top of page

Refugee

Refugee: A poem

With no food or shelter

I am here to wander

With no friends or family

My childhood is stolen brutally

It's been long since I have last been home

I wonder if its fine or apart its torn

I was just a child playing in the ground

When armed men came and encircled around

They shot my mother, my brother, my father

I had to run cause there was no way other

And now I am here in a different nation

Like me thousands other have come here for salvation

I know I might be too young to ask

But why is the truth about me being masked

I did no harm to them, nor did my family

Then why were they all killed so brutally

I question what a six year old me did to them

That they burnt my home and threw me to slum

I am casted to a new place

And thousands other are here with the same case

I have no friends here, nor a family

I have a new name, its called 'Refugee'

By: Taiyeba Alamgir

Instagram: @taiyeba_writes

bottom of page